Sebastian tear + yoga teacher

Funny, somebody searched this phrase in the net. Duh?! Is someone tracking my record of injuries and…who “could have caused” them? Ha ha! Thanks to WordPress, I now have a title for this blog!

Since Tuesday last week, my yoga session with Teacher Pio has not been that easy. In fact, I sent him a message asking, “Does this signal the beginning of our tormenting nights?” That night the straps in the shelf found their way into the shala, as we did the full pigeon pose. I thought my hip joints were going to break—ouch!

full pigeon
source: http://www.yoga.about.com

The following night we were only supposed to deepen our poses. “Pull your knee caps, push your heels on the floor, tail bone up, tuck your stomach…inhale, exhale…” Teacher Pio went as he instructed us in the downward facing dog pose.

downward dog
source: yoga poetry of the body

Then “snap!” I heard a sound from behind (literally). I think it was something around my right sitting bone. Gee, there are just some things I do not get yet in the practice of yoga. I was already holding the position—it’s not as if I am in transition from one pose to another— then something would just snap without any warning. No pain, no tightness of muscles.

The first time this happened to me, I was holding the wide-angle forward bend when my left hamstring suddenly snapped.

wide angle forward
source: yoga poetry of the body

That time, however, I did not take time to center my sitting bone before getting into the posture. “How can something as gentle as yoga cause you injury?” a friend asked me once. “Lack of awareness,” I answered. But this time, lack of awareness in downward dog, which I have been doing since my first day ever of yoga?!

The succeeding nights did not get any easier, what with the turtle pose (or more appropriately in our case “a distorted turtle” said Teacher) and spine and leg stretches.

turtle 1

turtle 2
source: the complete book of vinyasa yoga

Last Saturday only Jane and I attended the evening session, which means we had all of Teacher’s attention. Uh-oh. When Teacher was pushing my right leg (yes, the one with the torn sit bone muscles) in his hope that I could perfect supta trivikramasana (sorry, no English translation provided), I was tempted to ask Jane, being a mother of four, “Could labor pains be this bad?”

supta
source: the complete book of vinyasa yoga

But in this pain lies a hope. You see, I have felt (and seen) how misaligned my right leg is. For me to keep my balance in tree pose, I have to twist my right heel a little outward.

tree
source: yoga poetry of the body

When I do back bends, I can actually feel my right hip joint protruding a little bit more than my left side. This misalignment becomes very much pronounced when I do the bow pose—my reflection on the mirror just shows how asymmetrical body is! My right leg always turns outward.

bow
source: yoga poetry of the body

I told Teacher about it once and he replied, “Be content with what you have.” Be content with my twisted right leg. Sigh. Nevertheless, he keeps on rotating it inward whenever I do the pigeon and monkey poses.

pigeon
source: http://www.yoga.about.com

monkey
source: the complete book of vinyasa yoga

“Yoga will first show your misalignments…then it will correct them,” an old yogi friend told me. I believe that. And I hope that this pain only signals that something in my structure is getting corrected. For the meantime, I try to be content with what I have and what I can do.

2 thoughts on “Sebastian tear + yoga teacher

  1. it was a delight to read your entries… specially the part where you said that the injuries come from a lack of awareness. my own soreness usually has to do with my elbows which i think i forget to bend slightly as i do downward dog… and yes i do think it has to do with awareness… i also love the title of the source of your photos that says the poetry of the body… which i believe captures how i see it myself… seeing beauty in its fluidity and yet also seeing beauty in it being a work in progress and a way to be in touch or as i like to say a way to be “in step with myself,” its like a way to find stillness or perhaps the more appropriate term is to go to stillness since it is, i realize, not something we come upon by accident, but with much gentle, patient yet determined concentration… thank you for sharing your blog, it really was a delight to read your accounts of your experience of the different poses…

  2. Thanks, Shane, for dropping by and for sharing your thoughts and experience. Hope we can practice together one of these days. May promo ang Vinyasa Yoga Center this month, free trial sessions for the whole month of April. Please check their website on my blogroll =D

Leave a Reply

