Some Psych Theories and Yoga

 (Aside from yoga, I also do exercises, cerebral that is. This is one of them.)

 

Practically all my working life I have spent in the academe, in its obscurity though. I am not the type who do song-and-dance number before the class; I read, analyze, generate ideas, and write a whole lot for those who do the song-and-dance number…so that they may have something to say (now shoot me!). But much more than this, I do what I do because I find joy in learning and in sharing it in written form even if at times my contribution to the body of knowledge appears under another person’s name (shoot me twice!). And even if I tried leaving the academe twice already, I always found myself connected to it somehow, even now in my freelance job.

 

At present, I am working on a paper about adult learning. I have read that, among other things, adult learning is built on the following premise:

 

·         Learning is an active process and adults prefer to participate actively.

 

·         Learning is goal-oriented and adults are trying to achieve a goal or satisfy a need.

 

·         Group learning insofar as it creates a “learning atmosphere” of mutual support may be more effective than individual learning.

 

·         The existence of periodic plateau in the rate of learning necessitates frequent changes in the nature of the learning method to ensure continuous progress.

 

As I write my paper, I am reminded of yoga, my journey, and I guess, everybody else’s. The abovementioned principles are so true in my case! Particularly the plateauing part…which reminded me of my conversation with YT the other day about the difference between “eastern” and “western” gurus. In a gist, he, having had a diverse set of gurus, said that “eastern” gurus tend to espouse submission to authority without questioning. Maybe that type of guru system works for others; it worked for me for a time. But if one is to uphold the adult learning principles in yoga, one has to find a “western” guru, logically so because the principles were developed in the west. 

 

This topic also reminds me of the ego state theory I wrote about three years ago. The theory suggests that there are three ego states: parent, child, and adult. Someone with a “parent ego” tends to nurture and/or dominate, “child ego” likes to be told what to do and likes to be nurtured, and the “adult ego” is objective, detached, rational. Conflict arises, however, if two parent egos or two child egos are at work; or if an adult ego fails to manage (suppress? ha ha!) a parent or a child ego. Adult learning approach thus sits very well with somone with an “adult ego”, and so does the western guru system. And yes, YT said gurus have egos, too.

 

I guess the bottom line is, to each his own; go for whatever works for you. I believe that the universe will always give you the kind of guru/teacher/leader that you need in different phases of your life.

 

(Hay, couldn’t embed the video, so here’s the link http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/a/america/to_each_his_own.html )

2 thoughts on “Some Psych Theories and Yoga

  1. Hi Crissy! You’re so busy kasi, but for the right reason. 😉 Sana may sale ulit para magkita tayo ulit ;-P Let me know when you are free to meet up, sama mo si Neil!

Leave a Reply

