Kilikili Power

Google this phrase, which literally means ‘armpit power’, and a lot of people have been using it, although I am not sure if they are aware how it started. The Martial Law babies like me must have known how it came about. I remember hearing it first in a deodorant commercial (Veto was the brand name) aired on TV when I was still a kid. Lately, I often catch myself using this phrase…and that’s when my yogini-friend and I discuss yoga! We have been sharing our personal techniques on how to get into certain asanas.

In Utthita Parsvakonasana and Parivrtta Parsvakonasana, which are her strengths, for example,  she suggested that in order to keep my torso away from the floor, I should turn my head towards the ceiling and try to smell my kilikili…or do the nose-to-kilikili pose.  

As for me, in any pose that requires binding, I have to hook my kilikili to a body part–to my shin in Marichyasa A and B, to my knee in Marichyasana C and D, and to my thigh in our vinyasa version of Parivrtta Parsvakonasana (where we had to hook one  arm under the bent leg to reach the other and bind our  hands behind our back)–before I can rotate my arm. 

And as YT often reminds us, kilikili has to be against the (imaginary or real) wall in Urdhva Dhanurasana and the mark where one has to snuggle the shins in Bakasana.

Ah, the power of kilikili…demystified in yoga.

untitled-image

One thought on “Kilikili Power

Leave a Reply

