Distraction, Detour, Discernment Part 2

Woke up early this morning to attend a workshop at 8:30 am, harassed with the heavy traffic caused by an accident? fire? (not sure) in Pasig, only to find out that the workshop was held last Friday. Yup, I missed an important date again by several days. What’s happening to me?!

But I was quick to think of Plan B this time- do what I was supposed to do in the afternoon so I could go home early. So I went to my Alma Mater to get the papers I would need for school come September and had a wonderful lunch with a friend, an unplanned one. And I even bumped into a long lost colleague whom I have been trying to contact in the last four years–yes, of all places, we met again at the university registrar. I felt I was at the exact places at the exact time the Universe intended me to be in today. That’s a lesson I still need to learn everyday of my life–to trust in the wisdom and kindness of the Universe, to believe that everything happens for a purpose, and hence, to be open to and to cooperate with the Big Hand.

*****

Okay, we’re missing a whole story here. A lot of things have happened since Part 1 posted three weeks ago (May 25th). A couple of days after that post, an opportunity? another option? presented itself to me. The following week, I resigned from my job, ready to go back to school with only my savings to see me through the next couple of years. In a matter of days, I got a nod from my employer. Yet another couple of days later, my employer offered me a partial scholarship while allowing me to take a leave from teaching and to do some research work–absolutely a great deal!  Now, I just need to pass the application process. Everything is happening fast and smoothly. And yes, I need to remember to always be open to and to cooperate with the Big Hand. Om.

*****

Leap, love, and laughter. That could be the flipside, the more positive version of distraction, detours, and discernment. It’s a matter of perspective. After all, happiness is a state of mind.

To leap, to love, to laugh–that’s what I failed to do thus I did not get to join my friends in the zipline. 😀

100kph, 200m, 70ft above the ground

Oh, and this trip in itself was a surprise. A friend invited me a few days before she flew to this place and I just said yes. Sometimes I just need to say yes to what life has to offer…and life would just keep surprising me.

*****

I say my own prayer after the traditional ashtanga closing:

I pray for my teachers, and their teachers, and all those who have come before them. I pray for blessings and breath of life and of love for them.

I thank the Divine for the beauty and blessing of yoga. I pray that I may use them to glorify God, the serve others for the common good, and to do my dharma well and with joy.

Om.

Leave a Reply

