Sabado Bisyo

(subtitle: I love you, Sabado!)

Vowed to make Saturday my “me-day”, that is, a day for myself. I try really hard to stick to this…often I fail…because often I declare any day of the week a me-day!

I sleep early on Fridays (10:30pm is really early for a nocturnal person like me who normally sleeps at 2am at the earliest, 5am at the latest) so I can get up on time for Saturday yoga at YM Ortigas. Eat out for lunch/brunch. Alone or with friends, it doesn’t matter. Eating out makes me happy. Then, a thai massage and a cup of coffee. Yeah, this is life!

*****

Today is a little different though. After practice I stayed at the studio to watch a friend do slow flow.

Slow Flow Yoga

Slow Flow integrates the breath in both moving poses and seated meditation. The class aims to relax and balance the mind and body, thereby boosting energy levels with poses held for an extended period of time facilitating a deeper release. This class is ideal for beginners, people with injuries, for the elderly, for those who are less flexible and people who’d like an introduction to yoga in an encouraging and supportive environment. A commitment to explore and gain knowledge of one’s Self is a must. (http://yogamanila.com/slow-flow.html)

Today, it should have been called a “slow killer flow”. Really. Sure there were so many times they did the child’s pose (my thought bubble: andaya! bakit sa ashtanga wala?!) but halfway, they started doing poses I have never done or seen in my almost four years of yoga (my thought bubble: yoga pa ba ‘yan?). YT Jon led the session, which was different from the slow flow we did last year (it was new moon and we decided not to do ashtanga that night). I guess slow flow will be full of surprises–you’ll never know what YT will ask you to do next, ha ha!

But I had fun. Watching them. Watching yoga is one thing, doing it is another :-p.

*****

I go to Nuat Thai for massage. The term translates to “traditional / ancient massage”. Thai massage “is one of the world’s oldest healing therapeutic agents. A traditional Thai massage is a unique form of bodywork that incorporates Hatha Yoga, acupuncture, and reflexology with origins dating back 2500 years. Unlike the scooping and continuous strokes of the western massage traditions, the Thai method uses pressure points, muscle stretching and compression performed in a rhythmic movement of gentle rocking. Therapists not only use their hands to free tension from the client’s body, but they also employ their feet, forearms, knees, and elbows, with all work being done fully clothed on a floor mat. Thai medical massage works on the deeper levels of the mechanical functions of the human body to dramatically reduce muscle tension while  improving joint mobility, flexibility, as well as stimulating internal organs and balancing the subtle energy systems of the human body.” (source: http://www.harmonythaimassage.com/thaimassage2.htm)

Service ranges from a foot massage (starts at Php199), to back massage (starts at Php199), to full body massage (starts at (php350). But all services are priced at a flat rate of Php250 between 12noon and 6pm. So an after-yoga massage is just perfect!

Leave a Reply

