Holiday Reflection

A meaningful Christmas to all!

Yeah, sort of discriminately use the traditional greeting “merry” because the occasion is not necessarily happy for everyone. Last year, a friend lost her only child and come Christmas, I just didn’t have the heart to write on the gift card “Merry Christmas”. So I wrote “Wishing you a meaningful Christmas”. Small thing yet she noticed. Before she opened my gift for her, she read it twice: meaningful…meaningful.

*****

It’s Christmas! It’s supposed to be a joyous occasion yet the Daily Om for today talks about pain.

My heart has been broken thrice this year. By different people in different circumstances. And my prayer for next year is “Lord, I think I have met my quota already and there is no incentive for exceeding the mark. Please spare me, I don’t need yet another”.

Am reminded of one of my favorite scenes in The Lion King (1994).

The script goes like this: (source: http://www.lionking.org/scripts/Script.html#injungle)

Rafiki: What was THAT? {laughs} The weather– Pbbbah! Very peculiar. Don’t you think?
Simba: Yeah. Looks like the winds are changing.
Rafiki: Ahhh. Change is good.
Simba: Yeah, but it’s not easy. I know what I have to do. But, going back means I’ll have to face my past. I’ve been running from it for so long.

{Rafiki whacks Simba on the head with his staff.}

Simba: Oww! Jeez– What was that for?
Rafiki: It doesn’t matter; it’s in the past! {laughs}
Simba: {Rubbing head} Yeah, but it still hurts.
Rafiki: Oh yes, the past can hurt. But the way I see it, you can either run from it, or… learn from it.

{He swings at Simba with his staff again. This time Simba ducks.}

Rafiki: Hah, you see! So what are you going to do?
Simba: First, I’m gonna take your stick.

{Simba tosses Rafiki’s staff to the side.}

Sixteen years hence and I don’t seem to have learned my lesson yet. Sigh.

*****

From a friend’s FB status: You don’t turn your back on a student who is willing to learn regardless of his/her current abilities. And another: Patience is critical in respecting a student’s learning and development pace.

Oh, this is in the context of taekwondo by the way.

*****

Had lunch with the guru the other day. He said, “There is a stretch or pain inflicted by the teacher on the student for the latter to learn; but there is also a stretch or pain inflicted by the teacher on the student simply out of ego. You can feel the difference. You can see the difference, if you observe them even from afar”.

This he said in the context of aikido.

*****

A few more nuggets of wisdom from the guru:

“Your brilliance will compensate for the impropriety of wearing ‘tsinelas’. So if you’re not brilliant, please wear a pair of shoes.”

“You cannot change the future with the same mindset that caused the problem in the past.”

“If a man cannot appreciate (you)…surely another one will.”

“I am done with my parental obligation. My duty now is to serve the marginalized.” Hmmm, skipping the parental obligation and going straight to serving the marginalized sounds not a bad idea.

*****

Clarity, concentration, confidence–my wish for 2011.

To the guru, namaste.

2 thoughts on “Holiday Reflection

    • Thanks YIML! *HUGS* No more heartbreaks please (“less” could mean one or two, haha!). Funny but my stars say my 2011 will be marked by fun and (hold your breath) pregnancy. So now I’ll take my pranayama practice seriously, ha ha! 😉

Leave a Reply

