Back to Basics

“If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.” – 1 Corinthian 13:2

For me, this passage encapsulates the kind of spirituality I live by, or more accurately, what I struggle to achieve in my spiritual life.

*****

In my yoga life (which, by the way, is not separate from my spiritual life, but more like an enhancement, supplement, to it), what I consider my foundation is the first limb of Yoga: yama, which comes before niyama, asana, and pranayama.

YS II:30-31, 35-39

Yama consists of non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence, and non-greed. These Great Vows are universal, not limited by class, place, time, or circumstance.

In the presence of one firmly established in non-violence, all hostilities cease.

To one establish in truthfulness, actions and their results become subservient.

To one established in non-stealing, all wealth comes.

By one established in continence, vigor is gained.

*****

If I can do supta kurmasana on my own but do not tell the truth or cause others pain, I am nothing.

*****

Annotation by Sri Swami Satchidananda:

A Yogi should always keep this in mind. Teaching yoga is not like teaching history or geometry. The teacher must impart a life force–a little current–into others. How can he do this if he himself is weak, if he has a rundown, discharged battery?

*****

This note is something I should seriously consider before getting into any TTP. Well, I have two years to DISCERN–the key word imparted to me by my guru when I saw him over the weekend. Thankful for that time. Om.

Leave a Reply

