Yoga for Those Who Sit a Lot

That’s how I call my practice now, as my duties right now require me to do a lot of sitting…until the day I discover how to write and read (a whole lot of textbooks are not yet in audio form…would they ever be?) while walking, standing, or running. Imagine this: three hours of classroom session three nights a week, add to that the preparations for each class (translation: reading of an inch-thick text on average) and writing of papers…and emailing, FBing, and blogging 🙂 Its effect has taken its toll on my body  already in my 18 months of school.

Practice, practice, practice, all is coming–that’s what the guru of our gurus told us. While this is true–that’s how I was able to do many yoga poses, through practice–sometimes the management principle also applies in yoga: if you keep on doing the same thing, do not expect the result to be any different each time you do it. There are some poses that no matter how hard I try or how long I have been trying to do, they just do not come. Worse, there are some poses that you used to do and now you cannot anymore. What gives? Take Marichy D in my case.

Sure, I have gained a lot of weight  in the past several months but I realized during my self-practice since the start of 2012 that it’s more than the bulge that gets in the way of my twisting. My tummy bulges because my back collapses and my core isn’t activated; I could not twist because my hips are super stiff after long hours of sitting. Whenever I get into the “flow” of writing, I can go on and on for eight hours without a break. I am ecstatic afterwards, having the sense of accomplishment, but can neither stand nor walk (especially when I do my stuff in a cold room). I have made it my goal then to train to lengthen my spine, strengthen my core, and loosen my hips, and needless to say, skip my ashtanga practice.

I do these poses to lengthen and loosen my spine; I also do a seated series version of these, holding each pose/side for 8-16 breaths.

This...

...then this, I hold for as long as I can (three minutes on average).

 

This pose really "opens" my spine and I can actually feel it!

I find this pose a good preparation for Marichy C and D (and yes, there came a point I couldn't do C even!).

All these poses I used to do during my hatha vinyasa days so I am confident in doing them again, perhaps with higher level of awareness this time.

And this I try to do for core strength--a feat for me considering that I could not lift my feet from halasana when I was starting my practice.

I couldn't find the name of this pose but it certainly has opened my sides/hips so that I can do trikonasana much easier now.

Plus, with this routine, I can feel the lengthening of my spine in prasaritas.

I do not know yet when I can go back to a regular shala ashtanga class but I am sure that when I do, my practice will not be the same.

 

 

Leave a Reply

