Playing with Probabilities, Trusting in the Unseen

I read this FB post last Sunday:

How do we know if flipping a coin to make a decision will reflect God’s Will?

You are only flipping the coin. You do not make it fall this way or that. The coin will fall to the heads side or tails side by itself. Just think that the falling is in God’s hands. Tossing is your business. Dropping it to the right side is His business. The whole of life is a game. When you want to take sides in a game, what do you do? You flip a coin to decide who’s on which team. The tennis players rotate the racquet. Even in this so-called modern, scientific space age, we still flip coins. What does it mean? It means that there is an unseen force; things don’t just happen in an uncontrolled way. Somebody is controlling it. So it depends upon whether you believe that every movement is controlled by a higher will or not. If you believe it, yes, it’s God’s Will. If you don’t believe it, it is yours.

Today, I won this yoga towel raffled off by YT:

Photo0545

So sweet of him!

My first reaction was “buti na lang pumunta ako!” It’s because yesterday, a yogin-friend sent me a message, asking me if I were going to led class today. Since I was really having a bad day, I answered “Not sure, may topak kasi ako ngayon.” I was afraid I would just affect other people with my negative energy. However, when I realized that my main reason why I got into yoga in the first place was to love myself so I could love others more/better, I thought that all the more I should do yoga today. So I did and ended up taking this nice towel home.

Now what do I make out of this turn of events? Maybe the universe thought that it’s about time I stop burning/scraping my big toe 😉

I am glad I attended the class as well as the send-off lunch for YT; otherwise, I would have missed this lovely day!

*****

I read this quote way back in 1998. I forgot the source but I remember the line so vividly:

The probability of the occurrence of a miracle is infinitesimally small but it is never nil. 

One thought on “Playing with Probabilities, Trusting in the Unseen

Leave a Reply

