Peace Talk

What drives me?

I used to say “passion and purpose.” Now, I might as well add another “P”. Peace. After the workshop, the word means more to me than just savasana, or our neighbor not singing karaoke in full volume, or not engaging in an oral argument.

*****

Does it leave me peaceful?

Do I find what transpired meaningful or inspiring?

Do I have a better appreciation of the other person after this?

If my answer to these questions is no, then perhaps the conversation, or any social gathering at that, does not matter at all and hence, not worth engaging in again in the future.

Besides, ahimsa is not just non-violence to oneself or to other living things; it is also about not harming other people with words and thoughts.

peace 1

*****

Does it leave me peaceful?

I also ask this question after my yoga practice in the shala. As long as my answer is yes, I’d keep going back to it (I guess I have overcome my ego and economic issues behind my practice, ha!). Otherwise, doing self-practice at home may prove to be more yogic.

At home, nobody looks around, or goes to the jan several times in an hour, or flaps open the mat on the floor, or chats during practice. At home, I only have to deal with MY own drama, not somebody else’s. At home, nobody watches me and/or gives an evaluation of my practice (positive feedback is still an evaluation so I do not welcome it). Evaluation reduces the spiritual practice of yoga into mere physical, asana coaching. If I wanted an asana coach, I would have enrolled in gymnastics (in the same light that when one wants to lose weight, s/he should run instead, as YT puts it).

Peace 2

*****

 What disturbs my peace?

People who encroach on my personal space, especially my psychological space—e.g. talking to me when I want to be silent, simply because the person is not comfortable with silence or the person wants some sense of security or belonging (even if superficial); giving me unsolicited advice, not so much out of concern as it is the person’s need to feel powerful; tapping into my energy sources, deliberately or not, without my consent (in short, the thieves! Ha!); self-absorbed, utilitarian (even the friendly type, you know, the user-friendly :-P), dishonest people.

“Listen with attention, speak [and do things!] with intent, for the service of others.” Living out this motto every single day is more challenging than being able to come up from backbends, perhaps even more challenging than any form of asana.

Peace 3

 

#munimunimondaylatepost

#happysevenyearsinyoga

Leave a Reply

