Aparigraha Defined and Then Some

My six-year-old niece: I tried not to sleep all night, waiting for the tooth fairy to come. I did not see the fairy. But when I woke up in the morning, I got money and a toy from the tooth fairy!

Me: Why did you want money?

Niece: No. I did not want money. I wanted the toy and I did not even realize that it was possible for the tooth fairy to give toys!

Let us all repeat after her: I DID NOT WANT MONEY.

Say it again. And again….

*****

Niece (reading aloud a text from her religion class): We are God’s masterpiece. (To her mom) What is “masterpiece”?

Her mom/my sister: It means it is the best. We are the best of God’s creation.

Niece: Why? Everything that God created is the best!

Only the ego would say that we are above the animals, above the plants, above other race or class or _____ (name whatever kind of divide you can think of).

Let us all repeat after her: EVERYTHING THAT GOD CREATED IS THE BEST.

Say it again. And again….

 

Leave a Reply

